Beethoven – Piano Sonata “Hammerklavier” No. 29 in B-flat Major, Op. 106

Beethoven – Piano Sonata “Hammerklavier” No. 29 in B-flat Major, Op. 106

Beethoven’s greatest piano sonata. A monumental work, it encompasses a vast emotional soundscape; from the energetic triumphal feel of the opening movement to  the dark humour of the Scherzo, to the etheral, sorrowful Adagio, to the ending fugue, with its strange and elegiac atmosphere. Beethoven seems to be having a final few words…but we can’t quite understand what he’s saying.

Listening to this sonata feels like a life’s journey. It is affecting and powerful.

I have heard a few recordings of Hammerklavier, but noone comes anywhere near the emotive mastery of  Ronald Brautigam’s playing on a Paul Mc Naulty fortepiano.  Ronald is a virtuoso!

I. Allegro ( 0:00 )
II. Scherzo. Assai vivace ( 10:36 )
III. Adagio sostenuto (Appassionato e con molto sentimento) ( 13:02 )
IV. Largo – Allegro risoluto – Fuga a tre voci, con alcune licenze ( 28:51 )


About EdwardianPiano

I am a classical music enthusiast, history geek, artist and writer.
This entry was posted in Historically informed performance, Ludwig van Beethoven, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s