Tags

The Illusionist- period film

Based on Steven Millhauser’s short story Eisenheim The Illusionist. In nineteenth century Vienna, a magician amazes his audience with his illusions and incurs the wrath of the authorities.

I liked this film a lot- Eisenheim will keep you guessing throughout as to the truth behind his illusions- what is real and what is not?

I was also very surprised to see a flute conjured up by an old magician Eisenheim meets when a child in the Austrian countryside- I have the exact same flute!

Flute

Flute close up

I found it in a charity shop a few years ago, and for some reason thought it was from South America. I have been unable to find another flute like it via internet research, but it must be of Austrian origin, seeing as it is in this film.  I am presuming it is some kind of Shepherd flute. If anyone knows more about my Flute please post a comment!

[

