Felix Mendelssohn, artist

Felix Mendelssohn, artist

Felix Mendelssohn wasn’t just a musical genius, oh no..he was an artist as well! Some people are just that talented..

If all the music he wrote wasn’t enough- he produced over 300 artworks!

Just look at this masterpiece he painted of a view of Leipzig in 1838:

What beautiful use of colours and shades!

One wonders how he found the time to create all this art and music! I suppose not having tv and internet they had more time to devote to art…

Here is a nice website-Mendelssohn in Scotland, which shows some of his artworks  he did whilst in Britain- his watercolour of Durham Cathedral is beautiful!

http://www.mendelssohninscotland.com/journey-north

And another website exploring his artworks, The Mendelssohn Project:

Mendelssohn’s artistic imagination was by no means limited to the world of music; from an early age he expressed his ideas in drawings, watercolors, and even oil paintings that reflect a remarkable level of accomplishment and expertise.  In particular, his sense of visual structure was compelling, and his proclivity for gracefully nuanced renderings of line and details compares favorably with that of most artists of his time.  Continuing his work in this medium throughout his life, Felix Mendelssohn produced more than 300 artworks.

The Mendelssohn Project anticipates, for the first time anywhere, to bring together the two most vital expressions of Mendelssohn’s artistic imagination in several ways.

I think this is a marvellous project- exhibitions of his work planned, a virtual tour:

Coming soon, this website will enable users, while examining one, two, or more visual artworks, to play selected compositions by Mendelssohn simultaneously, and thus to experience vicariously the multidimensional appeal of his aesthetic imagination.

And a book!

The Mendelssohn Project anticipates a release of the complete artworks by Felix Mendelssohn in book-form.

http://www.themendelssohnproject.org/about_tmp/activities/artworks_2.htm

About EdwardianPiano

I am a classical music enthusiast, history geek, artist and writer.
This entry was posted in Art, Felix Mendelssohn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Felix Mendelssohn, artist

  1. aubreyleaman says:

    Mendelssohn definitely has some beautiful music! And I love the idea of listening to his compositions while viewing his artwork…I’ll have to check it out!

  2. Yes, he’s inspiring! Actually art is what led me to listening to Fingal’s Cave ( for about 2 hours now ..) I have been exploring art, colours and music as you will see from my art page. I like doing collages and have some colours that were evoking the Sea (already painted) and I thought to myself what classical piece could work with this? Then I thought of Felix straight away! I remembered that he’d composed an overture on the Hebrides..so I looked it up on you tube. I am working on the collage right now ( I did some colours for the Cave itself)- waiting for the paint to dry!
    UPDATE: My Fingal’s Cave collage is on the Fingal’s Cave post.

  3. Carrie Smoot says:

    Reblogged this on Blogging to the Classics and commented:
    I’m now listening to Mendelssohn’s piano works, I had no idea he painted. This is cool!

  4. janeadamsart says:

    This is a great surprise. What a beautiful use of line and space.

  5. You didn’t know Mendelssohn was also an artist? I agree, very beautifully done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

