Dvořák-The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

Dvořák-The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104.

 

 

I was asked to paint this Concerto by a friend as it is one of her favourite pieces. I had not heard it before and I am so glad I did- it is beautiful and dramatic. I can understand why it is widely seen as the best Cello Concerto ever.

Here are the paintings :

Allegro:

The B minor key I saw as a dark rich blue, and the B major key as a vibrant orange echoing the brighter feel. The sweet little voice of the Piccolo weaves around the Cello in golden yellow.

D.one2

 

Adagio, ma non troppo:

This movement for me has the feel of Spring and the theme of growth and the tranquillity of the green meadows. The triangle tinkles like snowdrops sprouting- the key of G minor brings hope of our dreams coming to fruition.

D.two2

Finale: Allegro moderato – Andante – Allegro vivo:

 

The finale returns to the keys of B minor and B major with the blues and oranges of the first movement, with greater complexity of themes- moving from tranquil to a joyous then frenetic pace. It is a riot of moods and textures!

D.three2

About EdwardianPiano

I am a classical music enthusiast, history geek, artist and writer.
This entry was posted in Art, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dvořák-The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

  1. Saxo Ungrammaticus says:

    Beautiful, thank you

  2. JKB says:

    I love the music and the paintings. I’d never heard this before; thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

