Tags

, ,

Arvo Pärt, Spiegel im Spiegel, for Piano and Violin.

 

 

“Spiegel im Spiegel” (German) translates into English “mirror in the mirror” as well as “mirrors in the mirror. This piece of music evokes an infinity of images or mirrors, in an atmosphere of endless tranquillity.

This painting came to me of its own accord, without my intention- I found myself sweeping a sponge to blend all the hues into a deep rich bronze background, and a meditative state came upon me.

As it dried I listened to the music and dipped my brush into the paints, creating lines of infinity as the music showed me how it wanted to come onto the canvas. The result is soft bronze and golden tones illustrating the gentle minimalist music.

“Spiegel im Spiegel” Acrylics on canvas, EwardianPiano.

Arvo2.

